CWC Fantasy

CWC Fantasy: 4 Amazing Coincidences in its History

Do you know the most prestigious trophy in the history of cricket? Yes, it is the CWC Fantasy game! Right from its inception in 1975 to the last world cup in 2015, the tournament has gone through some historic moments.

West Indies dominated the first two editions of the ODI fantasy world cup. And India surprised all by winning the third one. They took their maiden trophy home during the 3rd edition of the world cup in 1983. During the next world cup in 1987, Australia won their first trophy out of the five they have won so far. They have been the most consistent team in the history of the tournament. The next world cup trophy was won by Pakistan in 1992 and in 1996 Sri Lanka won the title.

India became the first hosts to win the tournament in 2011 and Australia followed their footsteps in 2015.

Fantasy cricket world cup has gone through many highs and lows over the years. The event has seen its own share of co-incidences too. Here is a look at four such incidences:

Nuwan Kulasekara – Bowled the last ball of WC 2011 and the first ball of WC 2015:

NuwanKulasekara of Sri Lankan team is the holder of a unique world cup cricket match record. He bowled the last ball of world cup 2011 and the first ball of 2015 tournament.

During WC 2011 finals, Sri Lankan team batted first and scored 274. India chased the score and reached it in 48.2 overs. Indian skipper MSDhoni smashed Kulasekara for a six and led Indian team to their second World Cup triumph. Four years later in 2015 WC, the first ball was also bowled Kulasekara against New Zealand.

Marvan Atapattu- Did not play a single game in WC 1996 and 2007:

Marvan Atapattu had not been included in the playing XI of world cup 1996, though he was in the world cup squad. Also, his indifferent form led him to not getting in the world cup 2007. Sri Lanka won the title in 1996 and reached the finals in 2007.

Ed Joyce and Eoin Morgan: Different country, different nation

Ed Joyce played for England in the world cup 2007 and Eoin Morgan wore Irish Jersey at the same year in the Caribbean. Four years later, during the World Cup 2011, Morgan played for England and Joyce represented Ireland.

In 2015 as well, Morgan represented the England team and he was the skipper of the team. Joyce played for Ireland. At this world cup 2019, Morgan is again leading England team whereas Joyce has taken retirement from international cricket.

Graham Gooch- Lost 3 World Cup finals in 3 decades:

Losing a World Cup final is always unsatisfactory. But, losing it three times across three decades is truly upsetting. That is what happened with England’s legend Graham Gooch. Gooch featured in three World Cup finals (1979, 1987 and 1992)and lost them all.

Thanks for reading! Play world cup fantasy game and enjoy!

Read More:
1. Fantasy World Cup History – 2 World Cup Finals of India
2. Fantasy Cricket World Cup – History of World Cup Trophy