CWC fantasy

CWC Fantasy – Highest Wicket Takers in 11 Editions

The 12th edition of the cricket world cup is on-going in England and Wales. The cricket fans from around the world had been waiting for the CWC fantasy tournament to begin.

A brilliant bowling squad has always been a common attribute of all those world cup fantasy cricket match teams who have lifted up the trophy earlier.

Today we will travel down the memory lane and learn about the highest wicket-takers in 11 editions of world cup fantasy game.

Gary Gilmour (Australia) – WC 1975

During the first edition of the fantasy world cup in 1975, the left-handed Australian pacer Gary Gilmour became the highest wicket-taker. He took 11 wickets by playing just 2 matches. In the group stages, he had not been picked in the playing eleven.

Mike Hendricks (England) – WC 1979

In the second edition of the world cup, it was English pacer Mike Hendricks to become the highest wicket taker of the tournament. Hendricks played 5 matches and took 10 wickets. He was a consistent player throughout the tournament.

Roger Binny (India) – WC 1983

India won the world cup in 1983, the third edition of the world cup for the first time. Roger Binny, the right arm medium Indian pacer became the highest wicket-taker of 1983 tournament. He took 18 wickets in the 8 matches he played.

Craig Mcdermott (Australia) – WC 1987

Australia won their first world cup trophy during this year. The Aussie pacer Craig Mcdermott became the highest wicket taker of the tournament. He played a crucial role for his nation in the world cup. Mcdermott took 18 wickets in the 8 matches he played.

Wasim Akram (Pakistan) – WC 1992

In 1992 world cup, Wasim Akram from Pakistan became the highest wicket-taker. Pakistan became the cricket world champion that year and took the trophy home. Akram played 10 matches and took 18 wickets.

Anil Kumble (India) – WC 1996

During the sixth world cup edition, Indian legendary leg spinner became the highest wicket-taker. He played 7 matches and took 15 wickets.

Geoff Allott (New Zealand) & Shane Warne (Australia) – WC 1999

During the seventh edition of the world cup in 1999, two bowlers shared the honor of highest wicket-taker. The left-arm Kiwi pacer, Geoff Allott and Australian leg spinner, Shane Warne took 20 wickets each. They played 9 matches and 10 matches respectively.

Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) – WC 2003

During world cup 2003, the Sri Lankan left-arm pacer reached the highest wicket-taker spot. He took 23 wickets in 10 matches but despite his terrific performance, the Lankans lost in the tournament.

Glenn McGrath (Australia) – WC 2007

The renowned Australian pacer, Glenn McGrath became the highest wicket-taker of the 2007 world cup. He played 11 matches and took 26 wickets during the entire tournament and led his nation to win the 4th trophy and complete their winning hat-trick.

Zaheer Khan (India) & Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) – WC 2011

Again during the tenth world cup edition in 2011, two bowlers shared the top spot of highest wicket-takers. Zaheer Khan from India & ShahidAfridi from Pakistan took 21 wickets each. They played 9 matches and 8 matches respectively.

Mitchell Starc (Australia) & Trent Boult (New Zealand) – WC 2015

The terrific performances by Mitchell Starc of Australia& Trent Boult of New Zealand reach the top spot during 2015 world cup. Both of them took 22 wickets each during the tournament. Starc played 8 wickets and Boult played in 9 wickets.

Thanks for reading! Play cricket world cup 2019 and enjoy!

Read More:
1. Cricket World Cup Fantasy History – Highest Team Totals
2. ODI Fantasy World Cup – Power Cricketers from Each Team
3. Fantasy Cricket World Cup History – 5 Controversial Moments