world cup fantasy game

World Cup Cricket Fantasy Game Facts and Trivia

Cricket is one of the oldest sports and its origins can be traced back to 1597. But, the history of world cup cricket fantasy game only dates back to 1975. This multi-nation tournament helps an ODI team get the ultimate glory.

It is the mother of all the cricket tournaments that have been held in every 4 years. The world cup fantasy league has been a great platform for many legendary cricketers to showcase their cricket skills.

The cricket world cup has always been the priority for the entire cricket playing nations. And these days they prepare for the world cup fantasy game well in advance.

The world cup cricket fantasy game has its own stories and facts so let us have a look at them and enjoy cricket world cup 2019!

#Fact 1

West Indies won the first two tournaments, beating Australia in 1975 and England in 1979 and then lost 1983 final to India, but have not reached another final since.

#Fact 2

The first men’s cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975, four years after the first recognised One-day International had been played in 1971, on the fifth day of a washed out Test between Australia and England in Melbourne.

#Fact 3

India also won the 2011 tournament. Pakistan (1992) and Sri Lanka (1996) are the only other winners.

#Fact 4

Allan Border’s Australia won the first of their four titles in 1987, sparking a period of dominance by the side in both one-day and test cricket for the next 20 years.

#Fact 5

Afghanistan will make their World Cup debut, having played three World Twenty20 tournaments.

#Fact 6

New Zealand and Australia will host 21 pool matches each, amongst 14 venues, seven in each country. It is the second time the two countries have co-hosted the tournament, having previously done so in 1992.

#Fact 7

New Zealand will host one quarter-final in Wellington and one semi-final in Auckland.

#Fact 8

There are two groups of seven teams playing a round robin format, with the top four in each pool making the quarter-finals, which will be straight knockouts.

#Fact 9

The final will be at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, only the second venue after Lord’s in London, to host more than one final.

#Fact 10

They can possibly reach the final in Melbourne without having played any of their games in Australia. The two co-hosts are in the same pool and play that match on February 28 in Auckland.

#Fact 11

Australia’s Glenn McGrath has the most wickets, 71 in 39 matches. McGrath also has the best bowling figures of 7-15 against Namibia in 2003.

#Fact 12

India’s Sachin Tendulkar is the leading run scorer with 2,278 runs in 45 matches and has scored the most centuries (six). He also holds the record for most runs in one tournament, 673 from 11 matches in 2003.

#Fact 13

The highest score in a World Cup match is 413-5 by India against Bermuda in 2007, while the lowest is 36 by Canada against Sri Lanka in 2003.

#Fact 14

South Africa’s Gary Kirsten has the highest score in a World Cup match, making 188 not out against UAE in 1996.

#Fact 15

Australia’s Ricky Ponting has taken 28 catches, the most by a non-wicketkeeper.

#Fact 16

Australian wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist has the most dismissals, 52 from 31 matches (45 catches, seven stumpings), though he could be overtaken by Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara (46) in this tournament.

Thanks for reading! Play world cup fantasy game and enjoy!

Read More:
1. World Cup Fantasy Cricket Facts for Online Cricket Gamers
2. World Cup Fantasy – 3 Teams Who Never Made To Finals
3. ODI Fantasy World Cup – First World Cup History