fantasy cricket world cup

Fantasy Cricket World Cup – History of World Cup Trophy

The biggest tournament of cricket, World Cup 2019 is not very far. On 30th May 2019, the cricket world cup will commence for more than 45 days. This is the time when fantasy cricket world cup fans will be able to show their cricket knowledge and earn exciting prizes.

Every world cup leaves loads of special memories for the ODI fantasy world cup fans. The history of cricket is old but the history of this tournament dates back to 1975. It was the year when 7 nations started competing in the biggest cricket tournament. The oldest 7 nations who played at the first edition of the world cup are Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Everyone who plays world cup fantasy game and watches cricket must have seen the first world cup trophy. As Indians, how can we forget the moment when Kapil Dev and team lifted their first WC trophy in 1983? That was one of the most glorious moments for all Indians. The trophy during that time was different. Prudential Cup Trophy was the name. The current name of the trophy is ICC trophy using World Cup 1999.

History of World Cup Trophy

The Prudential Cup

The first three editions of the World Cup held at England during 1975, 1979 and 1983. Prudential sponsored both the trophy and the cup. Windies lifted the Prudential Cup in the first two edition and India lifted it in the third edition.

The Reliance Cup

The venue of the world cup moved out of England into the sub-continent in 1987. The host was India and Pakistan and the new sponsor was Reliance. The young and aggressive Australian team lifted up the Reliance Cup.

Benson and Hedges World Cup

World Cup 1992 moved to Australia and New Zealand. For the first time all the matches were in colour clothes. Also, bowlers used white cricket balls to bowl. 9 teams participated during this world cup. Pakistan won the cup with some awe-inspiring leadership by Imran Khan. The trophy had been made of crystal and it is the only trophy which did not have any type of metal on it.

Wills World Cup

India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka hosted the world cup. 12 teams participated for the first time and also quarter-finals introduced. Arjuna Ranatunga led an unbeaten Sri Lankan team to become the World Champion in 1996. This is the only time till now that a co-host team has won the trophy.

ICC World Cup Trophy

The existing Trophy awarded to the winners of the ICC Cricket World Cup shaped for the 1999 championships. It is the first permanent prize in the tournament’s history.

A team of craftsmen from Garrad, the Crown Jewellers, developed the trophy. It was designed and produced in London within two months.

The world cup cricket games trophy is 65cm high, made from silver and gold and features a golden globe held up by three silver columns. The columns, shaped as stumps and bails, represent the three fundamental aspects of cricket: batting, bowling and fielding, while the globe represents the world and a cricket ball. The trophy is designed so that it can be instantly recognized from any angle.

The trophy weighs approximately 11 kilograms and has the names of the previous winners inscribed on its base. There is still room for a further ten teams to have their name inscribed on the base.

The International Cricket Council always keeps the actual trophy. A replica is presented to the winning team, which is identical in all aspects apart from the inscription of the previous champions.

In 1999, the trophy won by the Indian cricket team at the 1983 World Cup was damaged during a violent rampage on the Indian cricket board’s headquarters by the Hindu nationalist political group.

Thanks for reading! Play cricket world cup fantasy league and enjoy!

Read More:
1. Crucial 30+ scores in India’s World Cup Cricket Game Winnings
2. ODI Fantasy World Cup – Teams with Highest Winning Percentage