fantasy kabaddi league

Fantasy Kabaddi League – A Tea Break with Winners of All Seasons

It is safe to say that the Indian T20 league has changed the face of Indian sports and also the online games. Since its success, a number of sports have attempted to blend in the same formula. One of the sports that have found success is Indian fantasy kabaddi league.

The Indian fantasy kabaddi league has brought life to the sport which was not promoted earlier. Launched in 2014, year 2019 is the 7th season for the league. The league started with 8 teams participating in the tournament. It was in 2017 that 4 more teams were added making the number of participants 12 in total.

Looking at the fan following, there is no doubt that this season too is going to be a huge success. So before the season starts, let us get to know a little bit about the previous winners. Here is the list of Indian kabaddi fantasy league winners in the previous six seasons. Know them and start winning online kabaddi games at :

Jaipur Pink Panthers (2014):

Following Indian T20 league’s footsteps, Indian kabaddi league also had an inaugural champion from the city of Jaipur. Jaipur Pink Panthers won the first season of the League, defeating U Mumba in the final. Eight teams competed in the double round robin format in the fight to finish in the top four.

U Mumba (2015):

After missing out on the title in the first season, U Mumba finally got their hands on the trophy next year. The Mumbai-based team was dominant throughout the season and finished the group stages at the top of the table.

Patna Pirates (January 2016):

In the first season of the Indian kabaddi league, people tuned in due to curiosity and stayed for the second season because they liked it. The response in stadiums and TV ratings was exceptional. As a result, the organizers decided to make the league a bi-annual affair, in January and July.

And although the format remained the same with double round robin for eight teams, the competition now became a caravan, playing matches in every city for three days. U Mumba and Patna Pirates qualified for the semi-finals for the third consecutive time while Puneri Paltan and Bengal Warriors made it to the last four the first time. During that season Mumbai based team could not defend the title as Patna Pirates won the final.

Patna Pirates (July 2016):

In the fourth season, being played just 6 months after the previous one, the Pirates dominated the group stage. Patna became the first team to successfully defend the title after beating Jaipur 37-29 in the final.

Patna Pirates (2017):

After trying a bi-annual league in 2016, the organizers returned to their July-only schedule for the fifth season of the League. No one could stop Patna Pirates from completing the hat-trick. 4 new teams were added to the league during this year. 12 teams were divided into two zones of six teams each. With three games each against the opponents from the same zone, one each against teams from the other zone, and one wild card inter-zone match, all 12 teams played 22 games in total.

The fifth season was a big expansion of the league as the total number of matches went up to 138 from 60 in the first four seasons.

Bengaluru Bulls (2018):

The same zonal format continued for the sixth season of Indian kabaddi league, with 12 teams in total. Three-time champions, Patna Pirates failed to even make it to the playoffs, finishing fourth in Zone B.

Bengaluru Bulls, the 2014 semi-finalists and finalists of 2015, finally got their hands on the trophy. They got the trophy after winning the final against Gujarat by 38-33. Gujarat, on the other hands, Gujarat suffered second consecutive defeat in the final.

Thanks for reading! Play fantasy sports and enjoy!

Read More:
1. India Fantasy Kabaddi – Bengaluru Bulls Team Preview
2. India Fantasy Kabaddi League – Bengal Warriors Preview
3. Fantasy Kabaddi – Defensive Positions in Kabaddi