fantasy cricket

IPL Fantasy Cricket History – Orange Cap Winners

This is the 12th season of IPL and is the most attended and watched cricket league in the world. It began a trend of franchise-based cricket. And more such competitions have come up around the world after the success of the IPL and IPL fantasy cricket.

IPL is the treasure of talent from all over the world. The IPL fantasy league fans have been treated to some unusual performances over the past few years. To encourage and recognize such brilliant performances the concept of the Orange Cap was proposed.

At the end of each season, the leading run-scorer receives Orange Cap in the IPL. So, who have been the receivers of the Orange Cap all these years?

Here is the list of Orange Cap from 2008 to 2018 compiled for IPL T20 fantasy cricket fans. Let us have a look.

Also Read: IPL Fantasy Cricket History – Purple Cap Winners

Shaun Marsh (2008)

Shaun Marsh played for Kings XI Punjab in the first season of IPL and had scored 616 runs in this season in just 11 innings. To reach this landmark he had scored one brilliant century. And he also had hit 26 sixes and 59 boundaries in that season.

Matthew Hayden (2009)

Chennai Super Kings player, Matthew Hayden hit 22 sixes and 60 fours to reach a 572 runs landmark in 12 matches. He became an orange cap holder for the season. Interestingly, Hayden was playing with mongoose bat during the IPL T20 cricket game season, which was small in the size in comparison with ordinary Bat.

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

God of cricket, Sachin Tendulkar playing for Mumbai Indians in IPL season 3 received the Orange Cap. Playing in 15 matches, he was appointed as orange cap holder for his 618 runs that included 86 fours and just 3 sixes.

Chris Gayle (2011, 2012)

In both year 2011 and 2012, Chris Gayle was the orange cap holder playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore. During IPL 2011, he made 608 runs in 12 matches with the help of 44 sixes and 57 fours. In the next season, he made 733 runs in 15 matches with one century and seven half-centuries.

Michael Hussey (2013)

This was the last season for Australian cricketer; Michael Hussey was playing for Chennai super kings as an opener. With his destructive innings of 2013 season, he had 733 runs in 17 matches with the help of 17 sixes and 81 fours. He received the Orange Cap for IPL 2013.

Robin Uthappa (2014)

In IPL 2014, Robin Uthappa playing for Kolkata Knight Riders was the Orange Cap holder for having 660 runs in 16 matches with 18 sixes and 74 fours. This season was good for Kolkata team as well as for Robin Uthappa.

David Warner (2015)

He received Orange Cap for IPL 2015. In this season he scored 584 runs in 14 matches while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad. It includes 21 sixes and 65 fours.

Virat Kohli (2016)

He had scored the highest run in an IPL season with 973 runs. In IPL 2016ViratKohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore hit 38 sixes and 83 fours and received Orange Cap. He was the highest run-getter playing in 16 matches.

David Warner (2017)

With the help of 641 runs in the tenth season of IPL in 2017, David Warner was Orange Cap holder. In 14 matches, he hit 26 sixes and 63 fours playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Kane Williamson (2018)

In the absence of David Warner, Kane Williamson was appointed as Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper. He scored 735 runs in IPL 2018 in 17 matches with 28 sixes and 64 fours.

Thanks for reading! Play IPL fantasy cricket and enjoy!

Read More:
1. IPL Fantasy League – Players with Most Sixes
2. IPL Fantasy Cricket History – Highest Wicket-Takers in IPL Matches