IPL fantasy league

IPL Fantasy League –Emerging Player of Each Season

For the ardent cricket fans and the IPL fantasy league lovers, IPL is the most popular T20 cricket league around the globe. Spreading its extravaganza, it is the breath of fresh air during the torrid Indian summer. Also, it offers the perfect platform for the budding cricket talent to demonstrate their talent to the entire world.

Every year, BCCI recognizes new talents. They award the most prominent young talent at each IPL season with “Emerging Player of the Year” award. These players are also encouraged by the IPL fantasy cricket fans. Moreover, these young talents have to pass certain age criteria and experience condition to be the future star.

You as the IPL T20 fantasy cricket fans might remember the transition of this award. During the inaugural season of IPL in 2008, this award was “Best U-19 Player” and it was “Best U-23 Player” in IPL 2009 & 2010. It has also been known as the “Under-23 Success of the Tournament” in 2009 & 2010. In the year 2011 & 2012, it has been known as “Rising Star of the Year”, while, “Best Young Player of the Season” in 2013. At last, since 2014, the name “Emerging Player of the Year” came to existence.

Let us now glance on the list of successful “Emerging Player of the Year” for each of the IPL season. Read on:

Shreevats Goswami – Royal Challengers Bangalore

The first season of IPL had“Best U-19 Player” award and it was won by ShreevatsGoswami, who represented Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2008. He scored just 82 runs from his 3 innings, including a Man of the Match award and a half-century.

Rohit Sharma – Deccan Chargers

With 362 runs and 11 wickets from 16 matches in IPL 2009, Rohit Sharma won the “Best U-23 Player” award. He was playing for Deccan Chargers, which won the IPL in that edition.

Saurabh Tiwary – Mumbai Indians

With the guidance of Sachin Tendulkar, Jharkhand’s Saurabh Tiwary could show his batting skills in IPL 2010. He scored 419 runs in 16 matches, which included 3 half-centuries. He won “Under-23 Success of the Tournament” award that season.

Iqbal Abdulla – Kolkata Knight Riders

The left-arm spinner ascertained to be a dark horse for KKR in IPL 2011 edition of IPL. With 16 wickets from 15 matches, Iqbal Abdulla won the “Rising Star of the Year” award. Remarkably, KKR reached the top-four spot for the first time in this season of IPL.

Mandeep Singh – Kings XI Punjab

Playing for KXIP in IPL 2012, Mandeep Singh impressed the T20 cricket game fans by his 432 runs from 16 matches. His tournament included 2 half-centuries and “Rising Star of the Year” award.

Sanju Samson – Rajasthan Royals

In IPL 2013, young Sanju Samson did a brilliant job with both bat and gloves. He was playing for Rajasthan Royals. From 11 matches, Sanju scored 206 runs and inflicted 6 dismissals behind the stumps. He won the “Best Young Player of the Season” award.

Axar Patel – Kings XI Punjab

During IPL 2014, the budding talent and left-arm spinner Axar Patel played a terrific role for KXIP. He took 17 wickets in 17 matches and won the “Emerging Player of the Year” award. This was the first time in IPL KXIP reached the finale but lost the game to KKR.

Shreyas Iyer – Delhi Daredevils

This Mumbai-lad made his name in IPL by representing Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2015. Throughout the tournament, Iyer played an important role for the team by scoring 439 runs from 14 games. Following his impressive performance, Iyer received “Emerging Player of the Year” award.

Mustafizur Rahman – Sunrisers Hyderabad

He is the first non-Indian player of IPL to receive “Emerging Player of the Year” award. In IPL 2016 MustafizurRahman from Bangladesh played for Sunrisers Hyderabad. The left-arm pacer took 17 wickets in 16 games during the entire tournament.

Basil Thampi – Gujarat Lions

Basil Thampi got to represent Gujarat Lions during IPL 2017. In the entire tournament of that season, he was impressive with his pace bowling. He took 11 wickets in 12 matches and won “Emerging Player of the Year” award.

Rishabh Pant – Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils retained Rishabh Pant for the IPL 2018. And Pant proved his word by making 684 runs in the tournament. Despite his great effort, team Delhi ended at the bottom. Pant’s achievement includes a century and 5 half-centuries and “Emerging Player of the Year” award.

Thanks for reading! Play IPL fantasy league and enjoy!

Read More:
1. IPL Fantasy Cricket History – Orange Cap Winners
2. IPL Fantasy League – Players with Most Sixes
3. IPL Fantasy Cricket History – Purple Cap Winners