world cup fantasy

World Cup Fantasy – 3 Teams Who Never Made To Finals

Excitement and uncertainty are synonymous to cricket along with the world cup cricket games. We can see numerous instances when extremely strong teams have lost their match to their weaker opponents.

The cricketing and the world cup fantasy league universe of 11wickets.comhave seen many up and down throughout the years, particularly in the most vital tournament, the ICC World Cup. 20 nations have taken part in the event if you consider all the editions. But, the coveted trophy has been overcome only by five teams until now. The teams are West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

There are several ODI fantasy world cup teams who have fought to withstand the pressure of playing against the best teams and have never made it to the knock-out stage. However, a few cricketing superpowers make it to the semi-finals several times. However they have didn’t go on and secure the trophy.

Here is a list of three teams for the cricket world cup fantasy league fans who have made it to the semi-finals but have failed to seize the cup even once.

Team South Africa

South Africa has been one of the most powerful limited-overs teams worldwide ever since their debut in 1991 against India. The Proteas have developed extraordinary all-rounders and bowlers in international cricket. And they have been one of the most challenging team to beat in ODI.

The team played their first World Cup in 1992. They made it to the semi-finals before losing to England in one of the most debatable games ever played. South Africa needed 22 runs off 13 balls when rain disrupted the game. When they started again the target was revised to 22 runs off 1 ball, according to Duckworth Lewis method.

The Proteas have taken part in seven editions of World Cup. They have made it to the top 4 four times – 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2015. However, they have never won the trophy.

English Cricket Team

Cricket has its roots in England. Amazingly though, the inventors have never had the opportunity to lift the World Cup trophy in spite of having played in all the 11 editions.

The English team is definitely one of the balanced teams in the ODI version of the game. The side managed to get to the semi-finals five times in the first five editions of the tournament – 1975, 1979, 1983, 1987 and 1992, however, couldn’t get the trophy.

Furthermore, the English team has also made it to the final of the tournament on three occasions – 1979, 1987 and 1992, sadly winding up on the losing side.

New Zealand Cricket team

New Zealand happens to be an incredible team in ODI, mainly because of its significant all-rounders. The Kiwis have always smacked above their weight in the World Cup and have often amazed everyone with their ambitious brand of cricket.

This island nation has taken part in all the 11 editions of the World Cup, getting to the semi-finals seven times – 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007, 2011 and 2015, which happened to be a joint world record together with the Kangaroos.

Furthermore, the Black Caps managed to get to the finals in the last edition of World Cup, losing to arch-rivals Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Thanks for reading! Play world cup fantasy game and enjoy!

Read More:
1. World Cup Fantasy Cricket Facts for Online Cricket Gamers
2. ODI Fantasy World Cup – First World Cup History
3. Fantasy World Cup 2019 – 10 Participating Team Captains